A- A A+ | Screen Reader

USTM Media Excellence and Achievers Award-2017 conferred.

July 29 2017, USTM: In an overwhelming ceremony University of Science and Technology Meghalaya, the first private university in North East on science and technology, had honoured media achievers, media professionals in Hotel Landmark on 29th July, 2017.

Explaining its objective USTM Sources narrated “The purpose of this program was to recognize immense contribution laid by the media professionals for catalyzing social change, giving legitimacy to people’s voice through media disseminations and thus strengthening the role of media as “third estate”. “ We at USTM always maintain a healthy friendly relation with media fraternity as they are one of the pillars of a democratic society. Shri R.S. Mooshahary, Former Governor of Meghalaya and chief guest of the program while congratulating the young media achievers said “This is an unique attempt initiated by University of Science and Technology Meghalaya and I have been watching since its beginning that this university is always ahead in charting out new way of thoughts and executing those thoughts into action. USTM Media Excellence Award is one such brilliant action by USTM”. He also added “Media acts as an interface between the common man and the Government. It is a very powerful tool with the ability to make and break the opinion of people. If media tells the public that this picture is being demanded as one of the most wanted terrorists, people would regard him as one blindly. It has the capacity to swing perceptions or evoke emotions. This is what it has gained – faith of public”.

While encouraging the achievers, Mr. Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor, USTM and Chairman of ERD Foundation stated, “The USTM Media Excellence and USTM Young Media Achievers Award are meant for our media friends and fraternity in a bid to recognize the efforts of media professionals, reporters across the region and their contribution in making unbiased coverage, truthful news reporting and thus to bring to light all the anomalies lying within our government policies, its functioning or any lapses hidden in the decision making process by the government or any such unprecedented happenings throughout the country’. We strongly feel that journalists play a very important role in bringing about a change in the society. We also take this opportunity to share our achievements in the past one year” – he added.

Nitumoni Saikia (Editor in Chief, Pratidin Times), Prasanta Rajguru (Executive Editor, Amar Asom) were conferred with ERDF Media Excellence Award 2017, while Snigdha Sikha Borah (DY 365), Chaya Moni Bhuyan (Political Editor, News Live), Nasreen Habib (Editor, Eclectic), Mamta Misra (The Assam Tribune), Bireshwar Das (Dainik Jugasankha) and Ms. Emilo Konyak (Correspondent, Nagaland Post) were conferred with ERDF Media Young Media Achiever Award. Nasreen Habib, Editor, Eclectic, exclaimed after having bagged this award “I am very much happy that USTM has taken such a great initiative, being a media professional I must say that there is no alternative platform other than media whereby people’s voice can be channelized or perpetrated and I always urge upon all media professionals to be truthful to their profession and not to be swayed away by the centres of power”. Prasanta Rajguru, Executive Editor, also seconded the initiative by USTM and said “I always believed in my profession and so whatever I do, I do it consciously without letting my conscience be purchased”

Apply Online
Contact Us