A- A A+ | Screen Reader

Chancellor Hoque Inaugurated Assamese Science Literature Convention at Suwalkuchi

Anil Sharma Award for popularizing scientific literature was handed over by Mahbubul Hoque to Prof Bijoy Krishna Deva Sharma at Suwalkuchi Adhibesan of Asam Sahitya Sabha on 3 February 2020

3rd February 2020, Jyoti Kshetra, Suwalkuchi: With renewed emphasis on promotion of science literature, the Assamese Science Literature Convention of the 75th biennial session of Asam Sahitya Sabha was inaugurated today at Jyoti Kshetra in Suwalkuchi by Shikshacharya Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor of the University of Science & Technology Meghalaya. On the occasion, Prof Bijoy Krishna Deva Sharma, former professor of North Eastern Hill University was honoured with Anil Sharma Award for popularizing scientific literature. The ‘Dr Jyotiprashad Medhi Memorial Asomiya Bigyan Sahitya Sanmilan’ was conducted by Dr Balendra Kumar Das, eminent poet and writer and was graced by the new Sabha president Kuladhar Saikia, Dr Arup Kumar Misra, Director, Assam Science Technology and Environment Council, Dipak Sharma, Dr Joydeep Baruah, Dr Jayanta Kumar Goswami and Soumyadeep Dutta, apart from others. All the distinguished personalities were felicitated with gamocha, floral Assaese japi and momentos on the occasion.

Inaugurating the Convention, Mahbubul Hoque, Chairman ERD Foundation Guwahati and Chancellor USTM said, “I am really grateful to Asam Sahitya Sabha for appreciating and recognising our continuous effort to contribute to the educational development of the region. I also welcome Sabha for its incessant work towards enriching language and literature and extend all kinds of support from USTM. We will remain partners in all future endeavours under the guidance of Asam Sahitya Sabha.” He spoke on the role of science literature in inspiring and creating awareness in the minds of children and alike. It is only through science literature that the superstitious beliefs and practices prevailing in our society can be erased, he added.

Hoque said that USTM has initiated a Directorate of Language and Cultural Studies where Sabha will provide necessary inputs, expertise for various compilation and research. As a heritage and communicative language, Assamese and other indigenous languages of Assam will be taught.  He said that USTM will also promote and support the creation of a Language Museum under the guidance of Sabha. It could be mentioned that USTM signed an MoU with Asam Sahitya Sabha with the objective to work together in the field of literature, culture, heritage, diversity and ethnicity in the north-eastern region and carry documentation and research work on indigenous languages. USTM has already awarded 30 scholarships in the names of honorable past presidents of Sabha as well as initiated two PhD Fellowships for research on life and work of Dr Maheshwar Neog and Syed Abdul Malik.

Receiving the award, Prof Bijoy Krishna Dev Sharma expressed happiness over Asam Sahitya Sabha’s step to popularize science literature among the masses. It is due to lack of scientific mentality that our society is suffering from many superstitions.  Shri Kuladhar Saikia, the new president of Sabha was also present on the occasion and addressed the gathering with his emphasis on importance of popular science literature among the children and society. All the distinguished guests in the programme deliberated on the significance of popularizing science literature.

Apply Online
Contact Us